Richard Ali’s City of Memories on A.M Bakalars Top Ten Nigerian Novels

Would you like to find out which Nigerian books to read? A.M. Bakalar, author of Madame Mephisto, writes about her passion for Nigerian literature and recommends her top ten favourite Nigerian books in a short feature article ‘My Top Ten Nigerian Novels’ on Litro Magazine.

Image

‘I’ve always been a huge fan of Nigerian literature. A few years back I even went on a course to learn Igbo. I started seriously reading Nigerian literature during my PhD studies on Nigerian and Zimbabwean contemporary fiction—a course, incidentally, which I never finished, because I wrote my own novel instead! The brevity, freshness, and unique story telling style of Nigerian authors made me fall in love with the country’s literature and taught me in turn to believe in myself and my own writing style.’

One thought on “Richard Ali’s City of Memories on A.M Bakalars Top Ten Nigerian Novels

Leave a Reply

